11
Nov
09

Tagged (WTF is a Meme? :P)

Started over at http://dkdeathgoddess.blogspot.com and I was tagged by Arioch over at Clearcasting.

The DPS Meme

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary dps?

Zarii, Shaman, Elemental.  (Before I go further…I’m not dps.  As a matter of fact, before I got tagged I was about to make a post on how much I hate dps’ing…but fear not my posts will be full of fluffy sarcasm and bad language :P)

What is your primary dpsing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans) 

I dps’d in a 25man once.  We failed…all because me :p.  (No I don’t have delusions of grandeur.)  I stick with 5 mans. 

What is your favorite dps spell/ability for your class and why?

Chain lightning kicks ass!  If there are a few mobs it makes me look like I almost know what I’m doing.

What dps spell do you use least for your class and why?

Frost shock.  Honestly don’t think I’ve ever used it.  Costs a lot, shares a cool down with my only DoT and has a chance to slow target.  Oh fuck! its gonna be a wipe if I don’t slow the target.  Yeah, I’ll just leave that to someone else.

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your dps class and why?

Heroism (bloodlust for you horde types) and Totems!  Specifically the totem of wrath.  (You said my dps class)  When someone says “pop hero” suddenly I feel useful again.  Seriously though, those two things make a shaman almost indespensible in any group setting.  A well played shaman is also far from lacking on the dps.

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your dps class and why?

Me?  Ok, I need some work.  I don’t dps often since healers are commonly few.  The biggest weakness though is that there isn’t much versatility as far as what they can do.  Rotations amount to 3 or 4 spells depending on whether you are single point or aoe’ing (Flame Strike>Lava Blast>Lightning Bolt>Chain Lightning (if AoEing)>Lightning Bolt (until Lava Blast off cool down) repeat from beginning when Flame Strike DoT wears off.  We can Cleanse (sometimes) and Hex (but targets are often immune).  Well there is also Purge, which tends to be uber.  But shamans do this so little that its usually not even asked.  Priest/Pallies cleanse, Mages spell steal/sheep.  Thank you.  (wait I can do some of that…ah nevermind.)

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best dps assignment for you?

Not there.  I really have nothing to add here.  If I’m not healing it there really is no point to me being there.

What dps class do you enjoy dpsing with most and why?

Ummm…forgot to answer this.  Druids…battle rez, replenish (which I actually never need..mp5 is through the roof), and just over kick ass dps.  They also rarely pull threat off a tank which is odd…unlike crazy spikes from mages.  As a healer, that always bites.

What tanking class do you enjoy dpsing with least and why? 

Ok, I haven’t played with a DK tank I’ve been exceptionally happy with in a long time.  But I’ve also seen a DK tank kick unbelievable ass.  So it isn’t the class, it is without doubt the player that makes a tank win or fail. 

 What is your worst habit as a dps?

Being spec’d that way.

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while dpsing? 

The person who was dumb enough to ask me to dps.  (at least I never have to worry about stealing threat.)

Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other dps?

Yes.  When a shaman player knows how to dps they rock the meter and I’m going to get their eventually.

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a damage dealer?

Recount.  I leave it up because I’m masochistic.

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your class?

Well, the pallies in the guild seem to think that they are more awesome the us…which is a HUGE misconception :p.

I’m not sure.  I think shamans have a place and fit in it nicely.  We are there because of our little bonuses (totems, heroism) and we hold our own the meters.  Everyone knows this and shamans accept it.

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new dpsers of your class to learn? 

How to dps apparently.  I still haven’t figured it out…and I watched an ele shaman in healing gear with 100 point lower gear score than I (wow-heroes) completely and totally kick my fucking ass on Recount.  Plus, I haven’t dps’ed enough to answer this question with any kind of depth.  (not that I answer anything with depth)

What dps class do you feel you understand least?

Melee. (any form) I have a DK which I am leveling.  Instead of mana I have to look at a power level of some sort which I gain from using abilities.  What. The. Fuck?  Then I can use that to set off another ability?  I haven’t broken 300 on dps with her yet.  /cry  Give me mana dammit!!

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in dps?

I’m a minimalist here.  I use recount, the spartan ui pack, healbot, omen (ok I don’t have it but I’m supposed to…shhh), and decursive.  I actually need to look into getting a few more of these inthe sad hope that I will one day break 2500 dps.  Like targeting macros.  I have a feeling that things would be more pretty if I could actually switch targets with some sort of ease.

Strength over other stats or balanced stat allocation, and why?

I take it some sort of balls to the wall melee grunt made this questionaire.  Hello?  Magic users dps too…and if I went all out on strength I might be able to win the next Miss Azeroth but my lighting bolt would go plop not pew.  (Not that it doesn’t anyway).  Haste/hit/spell power in some sort of combo that works (not sure yet.)

(edit)  Sometimes I get so interest in making sarcastic replies that I forget they should also be intelligent.  Imagine that?  Anyway the right answer to this is that I dump everything into Intellect.  The rest of my stats are actually pointless.  For melee I think there is a valid argument for being more balanced, but my hubby is all strength all the way.  I cringe every time he gets a new peice of gear because that means for every socket (and he’s a miner) he needs a Bold Cardinal Ruby.  Yay me!  I told a raid leader the other day that if my hubby gets something like the Onyxia Mount that it goes to me….cause he owes me his fucking soul.   LOL. 

Tag!

As far as this goes…per my numbers I should have a whole host of targets.  But I figure I must be everyone’s dirty little secret because no one comments.  -_-  So that being the case I will tag the one other that was nice enough to comment and definite worth the read as far as his blog goes:  smart001 at That is Amazing (WoW)! 


5 Responses to “Tagged (WTF is a Meme? :P)”


  1. November 12, 2009 at 11:19 am

    ok, i will get to it…sheesh.

    also, you ARE everyone’s dirty little secret. :o)

  2. November 12, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Thanks for the post, Raven!
    I really like ellies despite never having played my shaman as a caster dps. You’re absolutely right; Heroism/Bloodlust remains one of the best spells in game, and your totem is truly <3. :)

  3. 4 Hiraun
    November 17, 2009 at 9:02 am

    I so feel your pain regarding how to dps. I leveled resto and now I’m in a guild that has so many healers they’d rather have me as uber-lousy dps; feral or balance, it doesn’t matter, as long as it’s a dps spec and comes with Leader of the Pack or Moonkin Aura for the real dps’ers.

    • November 20, 2009 at 10:55 am

      Actually you are brave leveling as resto. I couldn’t kill shit, even if they couldn’t kill me, and I was told I was the suckiest healer ever. I quit…dabbled in enhancement…got giddy over elemental…then, in the guild I started with my hubby, our star healer quit so I timidly went back to resto. As 80 things were completely different. I love it!! The dual spec is more or less to kill things if I’m doing a daily…cause healers really can’t kill shit. I need more experience in raid settings but the guild I’m in is a little cliquish with their healers and the wonderful things I provide are just as easily gotten from elemental/enhance shammys. Whores! :p


Leave a Reply

Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Shammy Abbreviations

CH = Chain Heal
CL = Chain Lightning
FS = Flame Strick
Hero = Heorism (Bloodlust)
HW = Healing Wave
int = intellect
LHW = Lesser Healing Wave
LB = Lava Burst
Lightning = Lightning Bolt
mp5 = mana regenerated per 5 seconds
RT = Riptide
sp = spell power


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

