12
Aug
10

Three Things Thursday

Why not?

#1)  One of my favorite topics of conversation are black holes.  I even have my own theory on how they are formed, but since I barely passed my first physics class there is very little possibility I will ever be presenting said theory.

#2)  I have a kitten/cat weakness that border’s on clinical.  I plan to open my own cat rescue when I get much much older. 

#3) I have a habit of trying on religions.  To date I have been Baptist, Methodist, plain old Christian, Druidic, Wiccan, and now I’m looking at Buddhist (though that is more of a path than a religion).  You could call me pathologically lost (which is true because I really am always lost) but I like to say I’m a wanderer…and “not all who wander are lost” (JRR Tolkien)

4 Responses to “Three Things Thursday”


  1. August 13, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Oh come on, tell use your black hole theory.

    I love reading about theoretical physics despite never having taken a physics course. Makes me wish I had.

    • August 13, 2010 at 3:38 pm

      Gladly…but it’s based on pure theory and complete lack of knowledge beyond what I’ve gleaned by reading in between the equations.

      The theory I think I understand is that stars exhaust a fuel source that’s inside a sort of ‘membrane’ that presses everything out. As some stars exhaust that fuel there is nothing pressing the ‘membrane’ out so it eventually crushes in to a point that the sheer amount of gravity pokes a kind of hole in the fabric of space. Don’t get the ‘membrane’ but they used a blown up balloon collapsing on foam ‘particles’ to explain it. They kind of lost me on where the supernova fits in but I guess the star reaches critical mass, goes supernova and then collapses back in? Not sure.

      Okay, my theory. Stars spin. Everything spins in space. They spin in place and spin around things. This has something to do with gravity, also a concept I do not completely understand which could blow the theory I’m about to explain all to hell. So the star is spinning in place. Now on Earth if you are spinning and you make yourself smaller then you spin faster. So if the same applies in space then as star gets smaller it starts spinning faster. There is no friction to slow it down so it will just keep spinning faster. Then we get the Gravitron effect. Ever ridden in one of these things? When you are inside a swiftly spinning object you get crushed. The faster it spins, the more you are crushed. Let’s say this star starts spinning close to the speed of light…everything inside gets crushed into infinite smallness causing the density to become so great that it then pokes the hole in the fabric of space and, voila!, black hole. The star never gets a chance to supernova.

      A side note on supernovas. I should read up on them. I do not understand how gas particles contained in, say, several thousand square miles could suddenly (on a cosmic scale) expand to millions of square miles and then want to return back to their original little cranny in space. Doesn’t this go against that theory that everything tends towards chaos? (A theory which I do not need any form of mathematical equation or highly trained professional to prove to me)

      Now watch…I’ll be right (not that I think I am….seriously!) but some physics major will see it, prove it (to the best that it can be proved without us actually watching the whole thing), get rich and I’ll be sitting here pouting and unable to do a damn thing about it. That’s just the way my luck runs sometimes.


Leave a Reply

Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Shammy Abbreviations

CH = Chain Heal
CL = Chain Lightning
FS = Flame Strick
Hero = Heorism (Bloodlust)
HW = Healing Wave
int = intellect
LHW = Lesser Healing Wave
LB = Lava Burst
Lightning = Lightning Bolt
mp5 = mana regenerated per 5 seconds
RT = Riptide
sp = spell power


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

